Warriors Trio Honored in 2023 Players’ Dream Team Selection


In an unprecedented move, NRL stars Shaun Johnson, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, and Addin Fonua-Blake have been recognized as the finest in their respective positions. This marks the time the Warriors trio has been given this honor, with their selection in the 2023 Players’ Dream Team.

The illustrious team is comprised of representatives from five notable clubs, the Broncos being the most prominent with four players. The Warriors and Panthers each lend three players to the ensemble, followed by Storm with two and the Sea Eagles with a single player.

Follow us on Google News! ✔️

Cameron Munster of the Storm, playing as the five-eighth, boasts the most appearances on the team alongside James Tedesco. Both players have been acknowledged as the best in their field four times, with Munster having been previously voted by his peers into the Dream Team in 2018, 2019, and 2022.

Payne Haas, Broncos prop and former Warriors trial player, joins the esteemed ranks of Nathan Cleary and Cameron Smith with his third appearance in the selection in 2023. Notably, Haas is the first middle forward to have featured in the Dream Team trifecta.

Congratulating the stand-out players of the 2023 season, Clint Newton, CEO of the Rugby League Players Association (RLPA), lauded their exceptional skills, determination, and commitment. He stated, “Being voted by your fellow players is a prestigious honor that signifies the remarkable talent our players have showcased both on and off the field consistently. These players have been selected for the Players’ Dream Team is a testament to their efforts and their exceptional contributions week on week.”

Newton further commented on the intensified rivalries soothed by mutual respect and the sterling reputation of rugby as the most demanding sport globally. He applauded the players for their incredible perseverance and talent, acknowledging the task of choosing the top 13 as a formidable challenge due to the wealth of talent in the NRL.

To be eligible for the Players’ Dream Team, players must primarily play for the season’s relevant position, limiting them to one position, and each player can nominate a maximum of one player per position from the list of eligible players. Current team members should not be nominated, and the player with the most points in each position joins the Dream Team. The only stipulation is that all contracted NRL players are permitted to vote. This recognition from one’s peers and being designated as the season’s premier player in their respective NRL positions, Newton concluded, is a tremendous honor.