Premier David Eby Ousts Member Adam Walker from British Columbia Legislature After Misconduct Investigation


The British Columbia legislature faced a significant shakeup recently. Premier David Eby announced the removal of New Democrat member, Adam Walker, from government ranks. Walker had represented a Vancouver Island riding for the previous four years.

Alterations in the legislature were substantiated by a concise statement unveiling Walker’s dismissal. However, specifics were sparse. The explanation originated from Eby’s office, indicating that an internal investigation precipitated Walker’s departure. This investigation was initiated due to an unspecified human resources complaint.

The professional probe into the matter discovered misconduct from the member of the legislative assembly (MLA), Walker. He had dutifully held the position of parliamentary secretary for the sustainable economy until this Sunday. Owing to the misconduct identified during the investigation, the statement confirmed that he would cease to serve as a parliamentary secretary and no longer be a member of the government caucus.

Due to the sensitive nature of human resources incidents, no further details were to be disclosed, as per the announcement. Walker, electively silent on the matter, did not immediately offer a response regarding his removal from caucus. In 2020, he was elected to the provincial legislature, representing the riding of Parksville-Qualicum.

A snapshot of Walker’s career history, outlined on the B.C. government website, mentioned his two-year tenure as a town councillor for Qualicum Beach before he ventured into provincial politics. Besides this political journey, Walker is a successful entrepreneur, having owned and operated a local technology enterprise for 15 years. He also manages a small farm alongside his wife.

With his exit from the NDP caucus, the governing party was left holding 56 seats in the provincial legislature. The BC United Party controls 26 seats, while BC Green Party and the Conservative Party of British Columbia each hold two seats. The latter party recently experienced a surge in representation, doubling their seat count after Bruce Banman, the MLA for Abbotsford South, defected from BC United.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here