On Saturday, Google announced that a change would be coming to its “Google Drive” service changing the behavior of the trash feature.
The tech company stated that “any file that is put into Google Drive’s ‘My Drive’ trash will begin to be automatically deleted after 30 consecutive days in the trash. Items in trash will still continue to consume quota and your storage will still continue to be shared across Google Drive, Gmail, and Google Photos.”
The change will be taking effect on October 13, 2020 and any files already in a user’s trash, will remain there for 30 days. This feature is already currently in place for other Google products such as Gmail.