Australia Welcomes Sunshine-filled Evenings with October’s Daylight Saving Commencement


As October welcomes the warmer months in Australia, the ticking hands on the clock are set to leap forward for several states. Daylight saving time will commence on the first day of the month, bringing with it added sunshine to the evenings.

Residents of New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and the Australian Capital Territory will adjust their timepieces forward by an hour at precisely 1.59am. This means skipping the 2am hour entirely, thereby technically losing an hour out of their day. This “lost” hour, however, will be reclaimed as the curtains of daylight saving draw to a close on April 7, 2024.

Follow us on Google News! ✔️

In terms of specific time zones, New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Victoria, and Tasmania will all be shifting to Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT).

Meanwhile, South Australia will transition to Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT), moving their clocks forward by an hour. A more dramatic change will occur in Norfolk Island, where the time will spring forward by two hours, placing them in the Norfolk Island Daylight Time (NFDT).

States like Queensland, the Northern Territory, and Western Australia, however, will remain untouched by daylight saving, giving their inhabitants no cause to alter their clocks. Their standard time zones of Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), Australian Central Standard Time (ACST), and Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) remain unchanged. Likewise, no change in clocks will affect Christmas Island, and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands as they don’t observe daylight saving.

This onset of October will, until the advent of April, orchestrate a synchronized dance of five different time zones across the Australian mainland. This means that during daylight saving, New South Wales, Victoria, the Australian Capital Territory, and Tasmania will all coincide on the AEDT. Queensland will trail the eastern states by one hour on AEST, South Australia will lag by thirty minutes on ACDT, the Northern Territory will be one and a half hours behind on ACST, Western Australia will fall three hours behind on AWST, while Norfolk Island will be two hours ahead.

For most residents, there is minimal disruption. Clocks linked with technology, such as phones and computers, will automatically recalibrate to daylight saving time in the wee hours of October 1. However, for those still wielding analog timepieces and older technology, such as microwave and oven clocks, manual adjustments will be required.